DCC opens up its Local Enterprise Partnership Scrutiny Commmittee to public scrutiny and participation

This positive change has long been requested by East Devon Alliance DCC Councillor Martin Shaw (Colyton and Seaton).

See minutes below for a full account of discussion at the meeting – about what is working well and (more importantly and interestingly) what is not:


One thought on “DCC opens up its Local Enterprise Partnership Scrutiny Commmittee to public scrutiny and participation

  1. On 13 October I made a comment on the Heart of the South West (HotSW) Joint Scrutiny Committee meeting scheduled for the 17 October. I pointed out that attendance at this essential exercise in democracy had steadily fallen through the year from eleven to just five councillors [correction, should read six] and added my opinion that this scrutiny committee has all the appearance of being in crisis.


    Sadly this view seems to have been confirmed from the October 17 meeting.

    From the minutes and associated documents of this Joint Scrutiny meeting of 17 October attendance is recorded as follows, down again to a bare quorum of five:


    Councillor Jerry Brook Devon County Council (Chair)
    Councillor Richard Hosking Devon County Council
    Councillor Julian Brazil Devon County Council
    Councillor Gareth Derrick Plymouth City Council
    Councillor Barrie Spencer South Hams District Council

    Councillor Ray Bloxham Devon County Council
    Councillor Mike Lewis Somerset County Council
    Councillor Jonny Morris Plymouth City Council

    Councillor Rod Williams Somerset County Council (Vice-Chair)
    Councillor Ann Brown Somerset County Council
    Councillor Simon Coles Somerset County Council
    Councillor Lee Howgate Torbay Council
    Councillor Karen Kennedy Torbay Council
    Councillor Norman Cavill Taunton Deane Borough Council
    Councillor Richard Chesterton Mid Devon District Council
    Councillor Ian Dyer Sedgemoor District Council

    [Only 16 councillors are listed though the Terms of Reference of the Scrutiny Committee sets the number at 17 – see Appendix 1 of the October briefing pack]

    Three of these attendees: Councillors, Hoskins, Brazil and Derrick were also among the six attending the previous meeting in June. These Councillors deserve credit for taking their scrutiny responsibility seriously where the majority clearly have not. Note that not a single Councillor from Somerset attended. This is democratic deficit writ large.

    As reported by Owl, the meeting did agreed that future meetings be webcast to continue to increase transparency of the Committee; and that public participation be adopted at future Committee meetings in line with Devon County Council’s public participation scheme. This is something that should have been included at the beginning but nevertheless represents progress.
    In my comment I conjectured a number of reasons why members might find attendance to be a waste of their time and, mischievously, raised the rhetorical question as to whether HoTSW might be using creative administrative devises to make scrutiny difficult or seem unimportant. So it is interesting to read, from the minutes that among the topics discussed were the following:

    1. the challenge of actively scrutinising the LEP when funds had already been allocated and projects begun;
    2. the need for Scrutiny to have sight of policies before they are agreed and implemented by the LEP, to add value and effectiveness to the governance process;
    3. the requirement of the Committee to scrutinise strategic documents and the cost effectiveness of the LEP.

    These are excellent questions which would certainly have benefitted from members of the public being able to follow the details through webcasting. We now need to know the HotSW’s response.


Comments are closed.