East Devon Alliance announces candidates for May Devon County Council elections

From EDA press release:

Three Independent candidates supported by the East Devon Alliance (EDA) will be standing for Devon County Council on May 6th. The Independent alliance has decided to concentrate its efforts in the divisions where it won or came a strong second in the last County elections in 2017.

In AXMINSTER, PAUL HAYWARD, who is deputy leader and economy portfolio holder at EDDC, will be standing. Paul came a close second in the last County election and says, ‘Axminster is tired of waiting for better times. We need action on potholes now. We need better healthcare provision now. We need a solution to our traffic and speeding problems now. Our residents need better and faster broadband now. On May 6th, if elected, I will start to deliver the change Axminster needs and deserves.’

In the Seaton and Colyton division, the current County Councillor, MARTIN SHAW, is standing again. He says, ‘My battle to secure the future of Seaton Hospital is only half-won, and I still have a huge amount of work to do, to help improve our environment, extend the Stop Line Way cycle route, achieve 20 mph limits in our town and village centres, and repair our rural roads. I am looking forward to another term if the voters agree.’

In Sidmouth, where EDA also came a close second last time, the Independent candidate will be LOUISE MACALLISTER, a project manager at Devon Communities Together who has worked on many projects in East Devon, including Sidmouth. She says, ‘As a passionate environmentalist, I am keen to enhance and protect Sidmouth’s natural assets and flood resilience. If elected, I look forward to working with the community to tackle issues with highways, traffic, and public transport, and ensure our NHS services and education provision are maintained and improved.’

In addition to its strong performance in these areas in the last County elections, the East Devon Alliance has 13 councillors on EDDC and its leader, Paul Arnott, is Leader of the Council.

[Owl draws attention to the trends. In the 2015 District elections there were 10 EDA councillors a net gain of 7. In 2019 this rose to 13 despite Cllr Ben Ingham’s double defection to “Independent” now “Conservative” and Cllr Megan Armstrong campaigning as one of Ingham’s “Indys” though now part of the “Independent Progressive” grouping working with the coalition. As mentioned in the press release EDA currently have only 1 County Councillor but are campaigning in two more divisions where they came a strong second.]