“East Devon Independent Claire Wright set to unite Remain voters in close historic two-way contest”

REMEMBER: a vote for anyone other than Claire Wright is a vote handed to Conservatives.


Claire Wright manifesto:

Click to access GEManifesto2019FINAL5.pdf

So, the choice is:

Claire Wright – Independent – local born, passionate defender of NHS, environment, education. Former EDDC councillor who enforced transparency in the planning system despite push-back from councillors with vested interests. Current DCC councillor fighting for our local NHS and environment again and again. Local Woodland Trust representative.

Peter Faithfull – single issue independent who stood also in 2017 (standing inly on continued publicity for a conspiracy theory about the murder of Genette Tait in Aylesbury in 1978).

Eleanor Rylance – Lib Dem – repeal of Article 50, no public vote on Brexit and from a party whose leader voted many times for bedroom tax, no increase in benefits and for studemt loans. Also Lib Dems voted in coalition for the Health and Social Care Act 2012 which divided the country into competing health areas and accelerated NHS privatisation.

Simon Jupp – Conservative. Arrived in East Devon 4 weeks ago after failing to be selected for a Bristol constituency. Former Radio Exe DJ before going into politics and said to be adviser to Dominic Raab, choice of Hugo Swire for PM. A Remainer who had now fortuitously become a Leaver. Also seems to use name Simon James on Facebook.

Henry Gent – Green (ish, a bit) – farmer who has optioned a huge area of his land to Persimmon for 900 houses. Seems much more interested in development than anything else. On the profligate Broadclyst Parish Council, which has a larger precept than Honiton thanks to large-scale financial support to just a few preferred local groups and a very big staffing budget!

Dan Taylor – Labour – outsider in a constituency that is not known for any Labour support!