Elections possible in Sidmouth after two councillors resign


Voters have a chance to request an election in the East and South Wards of Sidmouth Town Council following the resignations of councillors Louise Thompson and John Rayson this week for personal reasons.

John Rayson served on Sidmouth Town Council since 2015 and Louise Thomson since 2019. Chair of Sidmouth Town Council, councillor Ian Barlow said: “Both John and Louise brought their own unique skills to the council which benefitted many of the projects were are still working on. They put a considerable number of hours into their work as councillors on behalf of the community. Their presence in the Chamber will be missed.”

Any ten electors for the electoral area may give notice requesting that an election should be held to fill such vacancy.

Such a request must be signed and sent to the Returning Officer at East Devon District Council or sent electronically, which must incude a scan of the electors signature, to electoralservices@eastdevon.gov.uk by Midnight on July 2.